Charlotte Advocates for Education

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Chair of the Board
Gerald O. Johnson, Charlotte Post Publishing Co.

Vice Chair & Chair, Development Committee
Allen Prichard, Kennedy Covington Lobdell & Hickman, LLP

Immediate Past/ Nominating Committe Chair
Sue Breckenridge, Time Warner Cable

Treasurer, Chair of Finance
Steve Smith, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Lorraine Shalvoy, RainDance Marketing & Communications

Chair, Parent Leadership Network (PLN)
Sandy Kindbom, Allen Tate Co.

Chair, Research Committee
Dr. Darrel Miller, Queens University of Charlotte

Director At-Large

Rick Falknor, IBM

Ed Kizer, Community Education Advocate

Stoney Sellars, Technology Project Management, Inc.

Board Members

Susie Adams, Duke Energy Corp.

Dr. Mary Lynne Calhoun, UNC Charlotte

Janet Chernega, Central Piedmont Community College

Dumont Clarke, Board of County Commission**

Stephanie Counts, Counts & Company, Inc.

Kit Cramer, Charlotte Chamber**

Kevin Geddings, Geddings, Phillips & Anderson Communications

Norm Gundel, IBM

Dr. Frances Haithcock, CMS**

Julie Humphries, Bank of America

Richard W. Jacobsen, Jr., Mecklenburg County Dept. of Social Services

Leonard “Deacon” R. Jones, Community Education Advocate

Joel McPhee, Wachovia

Eddie Poe, Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein, LLP

Carlos Sanchez, BellSouth

John Suttle, General Dynamics

Dr. Marilyn Sutton-Haywood, Johnson C. Smith University

Louise Woods, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education**

Dr. Ricky Woods, First Baptist Church – West

(** – Ex officio)

Advocates for Education Staff

Margaret Carnes, Managing Director
e-mail: [email protected]

Cheryl Pulliam, Director of Adminstration and Research
e-mail: [email protected]

Joannah H. Roseman, Program Coordinator/ Web Manager
e-mail: [email protected]